The Educational Foundation

Educational Foundation

The Mississippi State Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation ("Foundation") was formed in 2006 by members of the Delta-Chi chapter of Kappa Sigma fraternity. The mission of the Foundation is to provide a vehicle for money to be raised that could be used to provide and enhance educational facilities in the Chapter House, as well as provide scholarships to deserving undergraduate Brothers.

The Foundation is registered with the Internal Revenue Service as a designated 501(c)(3) tax exempt corporation offering tax deductibility for contributions. As of December of 2010, over $100,000 has been raised with $6,000 being disbursed as scholarships, and $115,000 being spent on educational improvements to the Chapter House.

Each spring, the Foundation awards scholarships to deserving active brothers. The scholarships are awarded based on an application process that focuses on each applicant's grades, involvement in Kappa Sigma, campus activities, community service, and volunteer efforts.

Recipients of the Foundation scholarships are listed below:


Nicholas Dennery, Jackson, MS
Crockett Hailey, Fairhope, AL
Andrew Hairston, Silver City, MS
Michael Kistler, Pascagoula, MS
Brian Lewis, Columbus, MS
Lee Thorne, Iuka, MS.


Cory C. Brock, Woodstock, GA
Peyton Fiser, Greenville, MS
Brian Lewis, Columbus, MS
David Newsome, Germantown, TN
Josh Shideler, Senatobia, MS
David Lee Thorne, Iuka, MS


William Boyd - $1000
John McCraw - $1000
Sean Eschelweck - $1000
Justin Smith - $1000
Jarrod Biggott - $1000
Bradley Bankester - $500
Hunter Meriweather - $500
Hudson Frey - $500
Stewart Partick - $500
Robert Burle - $500


Trevor Boren - $1000
Bradley Bankester - $1000
Carter Ivey - $1000
Joseph Ward - $1000
Jarrod Bigott - $1000
Robert Burle - $500
Bowen Horton - $500
Zachary Butler - $500
Chris Boyd - $500
Andrew Fair - $500
Jud Roberts - $500

The Foundation is run by a Board of Directors that is elected each year to serve a one-year term. The current officers and directors of the Foundation are:

President | Johnny Fair

Starkville, MS

Vice President | Kevin Randall

Starkville, MS

Treasurer | David Bowling

Jackson, MS

Secretary | Tip Johnston

Jackson, MS


Ryan Roper

Tupelo, MS

Chris Shapley

Starkville, MS

Haden Hughes

Jackson, MS

2011 Delta-Chi Chapter of Kappa Sigma Fraternity
Alumni Chapter Site MSU Logo Star and Cresent KS MSU T-Shirts CHW Design Logo